1st Abbots Langley (3rd North Watford)

Cub Camp

10th - 12st July 2015
Group History (pdf)

Scouting first began in Abbots Langley in 1909, with four boys, and then eventually attracted 27. Each boy contributed one half penny per week (old money) which went toward buying a bugle at a cost of 4s.5d (approx 22p today). Unfortunately, by 1918 most of the lads were lost in the Great War of 1914-1918 and the troop was disbanded for a while.

A new group was formed in 1927 by Alan Macdonald (Mac) who ran this group sucessfully for some five to six years. sadly he was tragically killed on his motorcycle on his way to summer Scout camp.

Scout Badge

Others took over, too numerous to mention, but perhaps Frank Hoadly should be singled out, who was scout leader for many years and moulded Abbots Langley Scouts into the fine strong group it now is.

In living memory the group building has progressed from a timber and corrugated iron `hut' to the fine two storey brick built hall in Langley Road. (incedentally, in 1969 with the help of parents we formed a building company and built it ourselves.)

Old HQ

The group has over the years travelled and camped in almost every country in Europe, and many members have gone on to explore the rest of the world.